Instrumental Woman

I love music (well, everybody loves it). But I feel incomplete as music lover because I can’t play any instruments before, until I joined the Marimba Band when we were in grade school.

MARIMBA BAND.

Bamboo Organ: The Table

Bamboo Organ: The Table

The marimba is a percussion instrument consisting of a set of wooden bars struck with mallets to produce musical tones (Wikipedia). To be exact, I joined the band when I was in Grade 5 together with my other classmates. As newbies, we held the Tonic first until my classmates shifted to playing the Lire. I, together with my other three classmates, we were chosen to take place the seniors’ post since they are about to graduate. We were chosen based on our skills on playing the marimba, that’s why they gave us the spot to play the Table (melody and bass). Camille and I played the bass while Abigail and Joan played the melody.

Everytime we had school programs, we always play Lupang Hinirang and Quezon City Hymn. We also played in our graduation day🙂 Now I missed Ma’am Barba (our Marimba band adviser).

HIGH SCHOOL DAYS.
During 3rd year High school when OPM bands boomed and rocked the country with their greatest hits, I learned how to play the guitar (thanks to my friend Carla). It was just a jamming session when we had no class that time. Luckily, she brought to school her guitar and she insisted that I should try to learn the guitar. Since I’m a fast learner (buhat ng sariling bangko moment), within 24 hours, I knew how to play the guitar then. No joke. I can now play the song Same Ground by Kitchie Nadal. During that time, that song was very popular alongside Jeepney, Narda, etc.

Since we have many free time during 3rd year High school (and I can’t remember why), I used it to share what I learned. I taught my classmates how to play the guitar (most of them were boys). Now, they are more skilled guitar players than me, can now do plucking and not just simple strumming of the guitar, etc. Wow, I’m a proud teacher!🙂

COLLEGE DAYS.
So what instrument did I try to play during College days? Yes, I tried the piano and it’s so hard!

Now, I don’t have the time to play any of it: Marimba is not popular these days and I can’t see schools with Marimba band😦 We have guitar yes, but I don’t know what song to play.. And the piano? Duh, it’s really hard! It can be compared to the Table (marimba) because of melody and bass, same with the piano. But I’ll find time, I promise!🙂 Who knows, I can be a great guitarist one day, playing my own composition infront of many people. Well, it’s possible!

Playing the piano way back 2011 :)

Playing the piano way back 2011🙂

I used to play my own composition way back 4th year High school. It was our English month and I was given the chance to showcase my talent as a singer. During that time, I already composed a song titled “Blaming.” I made it New Year’s eve of 2006. Haha funny thing was, I can’t remember the lyrics (di pa kasi uso computer sakin nun!) But I can compose another one, if I have the time, and if I am inspired to do one.

There was a time when I also taught of having a band, with me as guitarist and also the lead vocals🙂 That’s when I admire Danita Paner. My favorite song of her was “Lunod” and I sang it during an audition for a Glee Club in College.

Leave a Reply

