“The Fault” In My First Read

I have nothing to do on a Sunday because we have no cable since my bro forgot to pay the bill on time. What I did productively? I read a book! And this book bore me the first time I read it after I’m done with series of e-books written by Molly McAdams, “Taking Chances” and “Stealing Harper.”

I’m talking about John Green‘s best selling book, “The Fault In Our Stars.” A lot of celebrities in the country have read the said book, while some of my friends/colleagues finished reading the book too. But I think for me, it takes perfect timing to read it since I have the impression that the story will just let me fall asleep BUT I was totally wrong! “Don’t judge the book by its cover,” yes I agree!

So I had the chance to reread the first 42 pages of the book (to where I stopped on my first attempt) and unaware that I was at 300+ page already after an hour of reading.

While reading the book, there are many realizations especially in life. There was also a point wherein I giggled over Augustus “Gus” Water‘s way of asking Hazel Grace Lancaster a picnic date (maybe) with a bouquet of bright Orange Tulips and handed over to Hazel.

“Augustus Waters was sitting on the front step as we pulled into the driveway. He was holding a bouquet of bright orange tulips just beginning to bloom, and wearing an Indiana Pacers jersey under his fleece, a wardrobe choice that seemed utterly out of character, although it did look quite good on him. He pushed himself up off the stoop, handed me the tulips, and asked, “Wanna go on a picnic?” I nodded, taking the flowers.”

So what’s with the color orange? In “Taking Chances,” Harper loves Orange Lilies while in “The Fault In Our Stars,” Gus gave Hazel an Orange Tulips.

Now back to the book again. The word “okay” also has significance to me now — and you will know why when you’re done with the book, okay?🙂

I saw this nice illustration of Hazel and Grace🙂 Regards to tfgeekgirl.com

What’s nice about the book? While reading it, you will still be reminded of how important it is to read a book. It’s also cool that at some point, I felt like I’m in the classroom and Hazel is lecturing about Abraham Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs.

I finished the book mourning (and I don’t want to divulge here why) like what happened after reading “Taking Chances.” But I enjoyed reading the John Green masterpiece.

Below are my favorite lines from the said book:

“Sure, I fear earthly oblivion. But, I mean, not to sound like my parents, but I believe humans have souls, and I believe in the conservation of souls. The oblivion fear is something else, fear that I won’t be able to give anything in exchange for my life. If you don’t live a life in service of a greater good, you’ve gotta at least die a death in service of a greater good, you know? And I fear that I won’t get either a life or a death that means anything.” — Augustus to Hazel

“It seemed like forever ago, like we’d had this brief but still infinite forever. Some infinities are bigger than other infinities.” — Hazel to Augustus

FILM ADAPTATION.
It’s confirmed! The book will have a film adaptation and it started rolling last month. Playing the roles of Augustus Waters and Hazel Grace Lancaster were newcomer Ansel Elgort and Shailene Woodley. Reading some reactions, they are said to be pretty fit for the roles.

 

Leave a Reply

